Logo JG-Universität MainzProf. Dr. Axel Müller


349. Tebaldi de Sordi, M.L.; Riegel, I.C.; Ceschi, M.A.; Müller, A.H.E.; Petzhold, C.L.: Synthesis of block copolymers based on poly(2,3-epithiopropylmethacrylate) via RAFT polymerization and preliminary investigations on thin film formation, Eur. Polym. J. 46, 336 (2010) -- DOI: 10.1016/j.eurpolymj.2009.09.017
Stichworte: 2,3-Epithiopropylmethacrylate, RAFT, Block copolymers, Thin film, SEM (scanning electron microscopy)

New block copolymers with narrow molecular weight distribution based on (2,3-epithiopropylmethacrylate) (ETMA), methylmethacrylate (MMA) and n-butylmethacrylate (nBMA) have been successfully synthesized via reversible addition-fragmentation transfer (RAFT) polymerization. First, RAFT homopolymerization of ETMA and MMA was carried out using 2-(2-cyanopropyl) dithiobenzoate (CPDB) as the chain transfer agent (CTA) and 2,2-azobisisobutyronitrile (AIBN) as the initiator. PETMA-b-P(nBMA) copolymers were synthesized using PETMA homopolymers as the macro-chain transfer agent (MCTA), while PMMA-b-PETMA diblock copolymers were synthesized using PMMA as the MCTA. The evolution of the molecular weight and molecular weight distribution of the homo- and co-polymers were compatible with the RAFT polymerization features. Thin films from the block copolymers were prepared by spin coating a 1 wt% polymer solution from toluene, chloroform or THF. After the preparation, the films were annealed under 80% vapor pressure of chloroform for 1, 2 and 4 h and investigated with scanning electron microscopy (SEM). The most interesting results were found in the films prepared using PETMA-b-P(nBMA) copolymers (). The observed images suggested the formation of hybrid lamellar structures, ascribed to the combination of its higher molecular weight and solvents viscosity.

Zu dieser Publikation gibt es weitere Dateien zum Download


Siehe auch:
  • Projekt: DAAD-PROBRAL: Nanostrukturierte Materialien aus mizellaren Systemen

powered by php + PostgreSQL - Letzte Änderung 13.04.2010- Impressum