Logo JG-Universität MainzProf. Dr. Axel Müller


336. Schacher, F.H.; Rudolph, T.; Wieberger, F.; Ulbricht, M.; Müller, A.H.E.: Double Stimuli-Responsive Ultrafiltration Membranes from Polystyrene-block-poly(N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate) Diblock Copolymers, ACS Appl. Mater. Interf. 1, 1492 (2009) -- DOI: 10.1021/am900175u -- PDF
Key words: membranes, polymeric materials, assembly, porous materials, block copolymers

We report on the formation of self-supporting, double stimuli-responsive ultrafiltration membranes via the non-solvent-induced phase separation (NIPS) process. The polymers, polystyrene-block-poly(N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate) (PS-b-PDMAEMA), were synthesized via living anionic polymerization in THF using sec-butyllithium as initiator. Two amphiphilic diblock copolymers were used, S81D1975 and S68D32100. The membranes were cast from mixtures of THF and DMF. The influence of the solvent composition, the “open-time” before immersion into the coagulation bath, and the casting film thickness onto the membrane morphology were thoroughly investigated, and flux values obtained for the different membrane systems were compared. The higher content in hydrophilic polymer for S68D32100 resulted in a better compatibility with the nonsolvent bath consisting of water, leading to a slower precipitation and thus an improved control of the phase separation occurring. Under certain conditions, ordered microphase-separated porous morphologies were observed in parts of the membrane cross-section. Further, the “smart” properties of those novel materials are shown for two representative systems. It could be demonstrated that both stimuli for PDMAEMA, pH and temperature, can be reversibly and independently applied in order to significantly change the transmembrane water flux.

There are additional file downloads belonging to this publication


Related links:
  • Project: Volkswagen-Stiftung: Switchable Intelligent Nanoporous Membranes Based on Block Copolymers

powered by php + PostgreSQL - last modified 2009-08-28- Impressum